

### STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

1740 West Adams Street, Suite 2430 • Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone (602) 864-5088 • www.chiroboard.az.gov

### **Business Entity Registration**

As of July 20, 2011, a Business Entity may not offer chiropractic services unless the entity is registered with the Board and the chiropractic services are conducted by a doctor of chiropractic licensed by this Board. Business Entity applications are due to the Board at least 60 days prior to the implementation of the Business Entity.

A copy of the Business Entity Statute and Rule is enclosed. It is recommended the Business Entity carefully review these documents prior to submitting the registration application.

### **Registration & Renewal:**

To register with the Board, a business entity must:

• File a completed registration application as outlined in the attached instructions.

Business Entity Registrations expire each year on June 1. To renew the registration, a business entity must submit a completed application for renewal and pay the annual renewal fee on or before May 31. The Board will send the appropriate renewal application forms no later than May 1 of each year.

### **Compliance:**

In accordance with A.R.S. §32-934 (D), a business entity must notify the Board within 30 days after any change in:

- Entity name, address or telephone number.
- Entity officers or directors.
- Doctor(s) of Chiropractic authorized to provide and responsible for providing or supervising the provision of chiropractic services in any facility.

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-934 (G), the business entity must establish a written protocol for the secure storage, transfer and access of the medical records of the entity's patients. The protocol must include procedures for:

- Notifying patients of the future locations of their records if the entity terminates or sells the practice.
- Disposing of unclaimed medical records.
- The timely response to requests for medical records by patients or their representatives.

The business entity must notify the Board within thirty days after:

- Dissolution of the business entity.
- Closure of the facility.
- Relocation of the facility.

The Business Entity Registration must be conspicuously displayed at each location owned and operated.

### **Exemption:**

The following business entities are exempt from registration:

- A facility owned by a chiropractic physician licensed by this Board.
- A sole proprietorship or partnership that consists of chiropractic physicians licensed by this Board.
- A professional corporation or professional limited liability company owned by chiropractic physicians licensed by this Board.
- An administrator or executor of the estate of a deceased chiropractic physician or a
  person who is legally authorized to act for a chiropractic physician who has been
  adjudicated to be mentally incompetent for one year after the date of the chiropractic
  physician's death or incapacitation.
- A health care institution that is licensed pursuant to Title 36.
- An Arizona licensed health professional acting within the scope of practice as prescribed by the professional's regulatory Board.

# OHACI CHAMINE OF ARREST OF

### STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

1740 West Adams Street, Suite 2430 • Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone (602) 864-5 088 • www.chiroboard.az.gov

### Application for Business Entity Registration Instructions

- 1. Enter the name of the BUSINESS ENTITY.
- 2. Enter the name of a CONTACT PERSON who is authorized to receive and respond to all related correspondence on behalf of the Business Entity and to sign on behalf of the Owner/Officer/Director(s).
- 3. Enter the Email address for the Business Entity CONTACT PERSON.
- 4. Enter the TELEPHONE, FAX NUMBER and MAILING ADDRESS for the Business Entity CONTACT PERSON.
- 5. Enter the total number of PRACTICE LOCATIONS operated by the Business Entity.
- 6. Enter the address, telephone and fax numbers for the PRIMARY practice location as well as for each ADDITIONAL practice location. (You may attach additional pages if necessary)
- 7. List the name and license number for EACH chiropractor working at EACH practice location. (You may attach additional pages if necessary)
- 8. Provide the total number of OWNERS/OFFICERS/DIRECTORS of the Business Entity.

Make copies of the attached Business Entity Owner/Officer/Director Documentation form and Arizona Statement of Citizenship Form as needed.

Complete ONE FORM for EACH Owner/Officer/Director and attach the following:

Documents related to questions 1 -3 (if appropriate)
Signed and Completed Arizona Statement of Citizenship Form
Government issued identification (See Evidence List & Statement of Citizenship)

Have each Owner/Officer/Director sign their form and have their signature NOTARIZED.

- 9. Attach a copy of the written protocol for records as required by A.R.S. § 32-934 (G).
- 10. Attach a copy of all contracts and/or agreements between the Business Entity and Chiropractor(s).
- 11. Have an AUTHORIZED AGENT sign the application form of have their signature NOTARIZED.
- 12. Submit the entire application package to the Board Office including a check or money order in the appropriate amount as follows:

Application Fee \$400.00

Prorated Renewal Fee \$ 17.00 per month through the next May 31

(See attached Chart)

Duplicate Certificate \$25.00 for EACH ADDITIONAL location

PRORATE FEE  TO BE ADDED TO \$400.00 Application Fee		
APPLICATION	MONTHLY	TOTAL PROPATE AMOUNT DUE
SUBMITTED	PRORATE	TOTAL PRORATE AMOUNT DUE
January	\$17.00	\$85.00
February	\$17.00	\$68.00
March	\$17.00	\$51.00
April	\$17.00	\$34.00
May	\$17.00	\$17.00



### STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

1740 West Adams Street, Suite 2430 • Phoenix, Arizona 85007 Phone (602) 864-5 088 • www.chiroboard.az.gov

### **Application for Business Entity Registration**

Type or print in blue or black ink. You <u>must</u> provide a response to each question. You may answer "None" or "N/A" if it is the correct response.

1.	Business Entity Name:				
2.	Contact Person:				
3.	Contact Person Email Address:				
4.	Telephone Number: ()		Fax Number:	()_	
	Mailing Address:				
	City:	State:		Zip:	
5.	Total number of practice locations:				
6.	Practice Address(es): (Please feel free to at				
	Primary site:				
	City:	State:		Zip:	
	Telephone Number: ()		_ Fax Number:	()	
	Additional Site:				
	City:	State:		Zip:	
	Telephone Number: ()		_ Fax Number:	()	
	Additional Site:				
	City:	State:		Zip:	
	Telephone Number: ( )		Fay Number:	<i>(</i> )	

7.	List the name and license number of each licensed chiropractic physician who is authorized to provide and responsible for providing or supervising the provision of chiropractic services at each location. If additional space is required, please attach a separate sheet of paper.				
		Chiropractor Name License Number			
•					
•		Please feel free to attach additional pages if necessary			
8.		ner of Owners/Officers/Directors complete a separate Owner/Officer/Director Documentation form for EACH individual.			
9.	chiropraction future locat	py of the written protocol that is in place for the secure storage, transfer, and access of the crecords of the business entity's patients that includes procedures for notifying patients of the tion of their records if the business entity terminates or sells the practice, disposing of unclaimed cords, and timely response to patient requests for records in accordance with A.R.S. § 32-934 (G).			
10.		py of any and all contracts or agreements between the business entity and doctor(s) of c, to include employment or franchise contracts, agreements or equivalent.			
11.	Declaration	is:			
	a.	I hereby give my permission for the Arizona State Board of Chiropractic Examiners to secu additional information concerning me or any of the statements in this application from a person or any source the Board may desire.			
	b.	I further agree to submit to questioning by the Board or any member thereof, and substantiate my statements if desired by the Board.			
	C.	I certify that I have read and personally answered all of the questions on this application.			
	d.	I have enclosed a check or money order for the appropriate amount in payment of all require application fees. I understand these fees are non-refundable.			
	e.	I am an authorized individual with signature authority for the Business Entity listed in that application.			

IZ.	·,	, tne	authorized agent ne	erein, state and depose
	that all facts, statements, and answers con			_
	any information that may be of value to the	•		• , ,
	whether it is called for or not. I agree that concerning my qualifications as an applican	•		
	Such falsification, omission, or withholding s			
	the registration, if discovered after issuance	e of the registration.	A.R.S. §32-900 et se	q., Arizona Chiropractio
	Act.			
13	I, the undersigned, do hereby swear and affi	irm that the foregoing	statements containe	d in this registration are
13.	true and correct.	and that the foregoing	statements containe	a in this registration are
	Signature of Authorized Agent		-	Date
Sta	te of			
Cou	inty			
			-	
Sub	scribed and sworn before me this	day of	_	,
	Not	ary Public		
Mv	commission expires			
,			_	



### STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

1951 West Camelback Road, Suite 330 • Phoenix, Arizona 85015 Phone (602) 864-5088 • Fax (602) 864-5099 www.chiroboard.az.gov

## BUSINESS ENTITY OWNER/OFFICER/DIRECTOR DOCUMENTATION

Type or print in blue or black ink. You <u>must</u> provide a response to each question. You may answer "None" or "N/A" if it is the correct response.

Name of Business Entity:	
Ownership Status:	□Current <u>OR</u> □Former (Please check ONE)
Name of Owner/Officer/Directo	r:
Former Name: (if applicable)	
Title:	
Social Security Number(Mandato	ory pursuant to A.R.S. § 25- 320):
<b>Current Office Address:</b>	
Telephone Number: ()	Fax Number: ()
Current Home Address:	
Previous Addresses: (Please incl	ude all addresses for the past FIVE years and indicate home or office
Home/Office: _	
Home/Office: _	

1.	Are you under investigation by any licensing Board or have you had a complaint filed against you or a license you possessed by this or any other jurisdiction, or has any formal sanction ever been taken against your license, or have you ever surrendered a license, or have you ever had a license denied? If yes, attach an explanation identifying the licensing entity, the date and nature of the situation.
	If you answered yes to question 1, you must arrange for the agency involved to send copies of all records related to your current investigation, license denial or disciplinary action directly to this Board. If the requested documents are not available, the Board must receive written notification from the agency stating that the records are unavailable. This notification must come directly to the Board office from the agency.
2.	In the last 12 months, have you been arrested, charged with, indicted for, or under investigation for a misdemeanor or felony requiring resolution in the courts?IfIfIf
	If you answered yes to question 2, you must arrange for the law enforcement agency involved to send certified copies of all records related to your arrest directly to this Board.
3.	Have you ever been convicted of, pled guilty to, or plead nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or felony, even if the record of the conviction or plea was sealed, or expunged, or the conviction was set aside or forgiven, or if the charges are unresolved, or have you entered into a stipulation or settlement agreement in lieu of such proceedings?
	If you answered yes to question 3, you must arrange for each law enforcement agency and court involved to send certified copies of all records related to your arrest(s) and conviction(s) directly to this Board.

- 4. Please attach the following for this Owner/Officer/Director:
  - a. A government issued photo identification confirming U.S. citizenship or legal presence in the United States
  - b. A signed and completed Arizona Statement of Citizenship form

_	1100	Inrations	1
5.	DEU	larations	

My Commission Expires:

- a. I hereby give my permission for the Arizona State Board of Chiropractic Examiners to secure additional information concerning me or any of the statements in this application from any person or any source the Board may desire.
- b. I further agree to submit to questioning by the Board or any member thereof, and to substantiate my statements if desired by the Board.
- c. I will notify the Board in writing within 10 working days if charged with a misdemeanor involving conduct that may affect patient safety or a felony while I am an applicant for registration pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-3208 (B).
- d. I will notify the Board in writing immediately if I become the subject of an investigation or disciplinary action by any regulatory board.
- e. I certify that I have read and personally answered all of the questions on this application.

6.	l,		, the Owner/Officer/Dire	ector
	true and correct. I am not omitting a Chiropractic Examiners in determinin that any falsification, omission, or wit qualifications as an applicant shall be Such falsification, omission, or withher	iny informa ig my quali thholding c sufficient olding shall	nts, and answers contained in this apparation that may be of value to the Boar ifications, whether it is called for or no of information or facts concerning my to bar this business entity from regist Il serve as sufficient grounds for the reservise issuance of the registration. A.R.S. §	d of ot. I agree ration.
			Signature of Owner/Officer/Director	
State o	f		_	
County	of		_	
Subscri	bed and sworn before me this	day of _	, 20	·
			Notary Public	

### ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP OR ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS

Professional License and Commercial License Arizona State Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 U.S.C. § 1621, provides that, with certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt "qualified aliens" (and sometimes only particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state, or local public benefits. With certain exceptions, a professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit.

Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation to the license agency that satisfactorily demonstrates the applicant's presence in the United States is authorized under federal law.

Directions: All applicants must complete Sections I, II, and IV. Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or nationals must also complete Section III.

Submit this completed form and a copy of one or more document(s) from the attached "Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status" with your application for license or renewal. If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued document that contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

SECTION I – APPLICANT INFORMATION
APPLICANT'S NAME (Print or type)
TYPE OF APPLICATION (Check one) ☐ INITIAL APPLICATION ☐ RENEWAL
TYPE OF LICENSE/REGISTRATION (Check one) ☐ CHIROPRACTIC ☐ BUSINESS ENTITY
SECTION II – CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION
Are you a citizen or national of the United States? ☐ Yes ☐ No
If <b>Yes</b> , indicate place of birth:
City State (or equivalent) Country or Territory
If you answered <b>Yes</b> , 1) Attach a legible copy of a document from the attached list.  Name of document
2) Go to Section IV.
If you answered <b>No</b> , you must complete Section III and IV.
SECTION III – ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION
To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States. Please indicate alien status by checking the appropriate box. Attach a legible copy of a document from the attached list or other document as evidence of your status. Name of document provided
Qualified Alien Status (8 U.S.C.§§ 1621(a)(1),-1641(b) and (c))
☐ 1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)

	2.	An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.
	3.	A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.
	4.	An alien paroled into the United States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.
	5.	An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA.
	6.	An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.
	7.	An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian entrant.
	8.	An alien who has, or whose child or child's parent is a "battered alien" or an alien subject to extreme cruelty in the United States.
Nonim	migra	ant Status (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(2))
	9.	A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C § 1101 et seq.] Nonimmigrants are persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose. See 8 U.S.C § 1101(a)(15).
Alien	Parole	ed into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C. § 1621(a)(3))
	10.	An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA
Other	Perso	ons (8 U.S.C § 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)
	11.	A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or
	12.	A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901 <i>et seq.</i> ];
	13.	A foreign national not physically present in the United States.
Other	wise I	Lawfully Present
	14.	A person not described in categories 1-13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States. <b>PLEASE NOTE:</b> The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure. See 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).
		SECTION IV - DECLARATION
All ap	plica	nts must complete this section.
		nder penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona that the answers and evidence I have given are rrect to the best of my knowledge.
		APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE TODAY'S DATE

### **EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS**

If the document you submit does not contain a photograph, you must also provide a government issued document that contains your photograph. You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is not the same as your current legal name.

### **Evidence showing authorized presence in the United State includes the following:**

- 1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona non-operating identification license.
- 2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States.
- 3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time)
- 4. A United States certificate of birth abroad.
- 5. A United States passport. \*\*\*Passport must be signed\*\*\*
- 6. A foreign passport with a United States visa.
- 7. An I-94 form with a photograph.
- 8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document or refugee travel document.
- 9. A United States certificate of naturalization.
- 10. A United States certificate of citizenship.
- 11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood.
- 12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth.
- 13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before issuing the license.

### Arizona Revised Statute §32-934.

### <u>Business entities; registration; fees; medical records protocol; civil penalty; exemptions; violation; classification</u>

- A. A business entity may not offer chiropractic services pursuant to this chapter unless:
  - 1. The entity is registered with the board pursuant to this section and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter.
  - 2. The services are conducted by a doctor of chiropractic who is licensed pursuant to this chapter.
- B. The business entity must file a registration application and pay a fee as prescribed by the board by rule.
- C. Registration expires on June 1 of each year. A business entity that wishes to renew a registration must submit an application for renewal as prescribed by the board on an annual basis before the expiration date and pay a renewal fee as prescribed by the board by rule. The board shall prorate the renewal fee for the first year registration renewal based on the first day of the month that the business entity was registered with the board. An entity that fails to renew the registration before the expiration date is subject to a late fee as prescribed by the board by rule.
- D. A business entity must notify the board in writing within thirty days after any change:
  - 1. In the entity's name, address or telephone number.
  - 2. In the entity's officers or directors.
  - 3. In the name of any doctor of chiropractic who is authorized to provide and who is responsible for providing or supervising the provision of chiropractic services in any facility.
- E. The board shall impose a civil penalty as prescribed by the board by rule on a business entity that does not notify the board as required by subsection D of this section.
- F. A business entity must comply with this chapter and board rules.
- G. A business entity must establish a written protocol for the secure storage, transfer and access of the medical records of the business entity's patients. This protocol must include, at a minimum, procedures for:

- 1. Notifying patients of the future locations of their records if the business entity terminates or sells the practice.
- 2. Disposing of unclaimed medical records.
- 3. The timely response to requests by patients or their representatives for copies of their records.
- H. A business entity must notify the board within thirty days after the entity's dissolution or the closing or relocation of any facility and must disclose to the board the entity's procedure by which its patients may obtain their records.
- I. The board may impose discipline consistent with this chapter if an entity violates any statute or board rule.
- J. The board shall deposit, pursuant to sections 35-146 and 35-147, civil penalties collected pursuant to this section in the state general fund.
- K. This section does not apply to:
  - 1. A facility owned by a person who is licensed pursuant to this chapter.
  - 2. A sole proprietorship or partnership that consists of persons who are licensed pursuant to this chapter.
  - 3. A professional corporation or professional limited liability company, the shares of which are owned by persons who are licensed pursuant to this chapter.
  - 4. An administrator or executor of the estate of a deceased doctor of chiropractic or a person who is legally authorized to act for a doctor of chiropractic who has been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent for not more than one year after the date of the doctor of chiropractic's death or incapacitation.
  - 5. A health care institution that is licensed pursuant to title 36.
  - 6. A health professional who is not licensed pursuant to this chapter but who acts within the scope of practice as prescribed by the health professional's regulatory board.
- L. A business entity that offers chiropractic services pursuant to this chapter without complying with the registration requirements of this section is guilty of a class 6 felony.

### TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

#### CHAPTER 7. BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

#### **ARTICLE 14. BUSINESS ENTITIES**

#### Section

R4-7-1401.	Application for Business Entity; qualification of applicant; fee; background investigations
R4-7-1402.	Display of Registration
R4-7-1403.	Procedures for Processing Initial Registration Applications
R4-7-1404.	Business Entity Registration Renewal: Issuance, Reinstatement
R4-7-1405.	Business Entity Registration: Denial
R4-7-1406.	Reporting; Civil Penalty
R4-7-1407.	Licensed Doctors of Chiropractic and Business Entities, Unprofessional Conduct
R4-7-1408.	Exemptions

#### **ARTICLE 14. BUSINESS ENTITIES**

#### R4-7-1401 Application for Business Entity; qualifications of applicant; fee; background investigations

- A. A business entity that wishes to operate a clinic, franchise, business, club, or any other entity which uses the services of a licensed doctor of chiropractic to provide a service, supervise the provision of services, act as clinical director or otherwise perform any function under a person's chiropractic license (doctor of chiropractic) shall submit a complete application to the Board at least sixty days prior to the intended implementation of engaging the services of a licensed doctor of chiropractic. A business entity that uses the services of a doctor of chiropractic as defined in this subsection prior to the effective date of these rules shall submit a complete application to the Board no later than ten days from the effective date of these rules. A business entity shall not engage the services of a doctor of chiropractic as noted in this section until the Board has approved and issued the registration. The registration shall serve as a license for the purpose of compliance with this Chapter.
- B. "Owner, officer or director" means any person with a fiscal or an administrative interest in the business entity, regardless of whether the business is a for-profit or non-profit affiliation.
- C. To be eligible for business entity registration, the applicant owners, officers or directors shall:

- 1. Be of good character and reputation.
- <u>2.</u> Have obtained a license or a permit to conduct a business under applicable law and jurisdiction.
- <u>D.</u> The board may deny registration to a business entity if:
  - <u>1.</u> The business entity is not eligible for registration.
  - 2. An owner, an officer or a director has had a license to practice any profession refused, revoked, suspended, surrendered or restricted by a regulatory entity in this or any other jurisdiction for any act that constitutes unprofessional conduct pursuant to this Chapter.
  - 3. An owner, an officer or a director is currently under investigation by a regulatory entity in this or any other jurisdiction for an act that may constitute unprofessional conduct pursuant to this 
    Chapter.
  - 4. An owner, an officer or a director has surrendered a license for an act that constitutes unprofessional conduct pursuant to this Chapter in this or any other jurisdiction.
  - 5. An owner, an officer or a director has been convicted of criminal conduct that constitutes grounds for disciplinary action pursuant to this Chapter.
  - 6. The business entity allows or has allowed any person to practice chiropractic without a license or fails or failed to confirm that a person that practices chiropractic is properly licensed.
  - The business entity allows or has allowed a person who is not a licensed doctor of chiropractic and who is not a chiropractic assistant to provide patient services according to this Chapter.
- E. The applicant shall pay to the Board a nonrefundable application fee of \$400.00.
- F. In order to determine an applicant business entity's (applicant) eligibility for approval, the Board may require the business entity's owners, officers and directors to submit a full set of fingerprints to the Board.

  The Board shall submit the fingerprints to the department of public safety for the purpose of obtaining a state and federal criminal records check pursuant to section A.R.S. 41-1750 and Public Law 92-544. The department of public safety may exchange this fingerprint data with the federal bureau of investigation. The board shall charge each applicant a fee that is necessary to cover the cost of the investigation. The Board shall forward this fee to the department of public safety.

#### R4-7-1402. Display of Registration

A business entity shall, at all times, display the registration issued to the business entity by the Board in a conspicuous place at all locations where a doctor of chiropractic is employed, contracted or otherwise functions in any capacity under a chiropractic license, including mobile practices. The business entity shall, upon request of any person, immediately produce for inspection the annual renewal certificate for the current registration period and shall keep a renewal certificate issued by the Board present at all locations.

### R4-7-1403. Procedures for Processing Initial Registration Applications

- An applicant may obtain an application package at the Board Office on a business day, or by requesting that the Board send the application to an address specified by the applicant.
- B. A completed business entity registration application package shall be submitted to the Board office on a business day. The Board shall deem the business entity application package received on the date that the Board stamps on the package as the date the package is delivered to the Board office.
- C. To complete a business entity application package, an applicant shall provide the following information and documentation:
  - 1. The full current name and any former names and title of any and all owners, officers or directors.
  - The current home and all office addresses, current home and all office phone numbers, all current office fax numbers, and any previous home or office addresses for the past five years for each owner, officer or director.
  - 3. The business name and the current addresses, phone numbers and fax numbers for each office, clinic or other setting where any service is performed, supervised or directed by a licensed doctor of chiropractic according to R4-7-1401(A) and this Chapter.
  - <u>4.</u> The non-refundable application fee of \$400.00.
  - 5. The name and license number of each doctor of chiropractic employed with, contracted with, or otherwise affiliated with the business entity according to R4-7-1401(A) and this Chapter.
  - <u>A completed fingerprint card for each owner, officer and director.</u>
  - Copies of any and all contracts or any other agreement between the business entity and the doctor
     of chiropractic, to include employment or franchise contracts, agreements or equivalent.
  - 8. Any record of an owner, officer or director being convicted of, pleading guilty to, or pleading nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or a felony, even if the record of the conviction or plea was sealed or

- expunged or the conviction was set aside or forgiven, and any record of an arrest, investigation, indictment, or unconcluded charge.
- 9. Any record of an owner, officer or director being refused a license to practice chiropractic or any other profession in this or any other jurisdiction, and any record of a disciplinary action taken against an owner, officer or director's license in this or any other jurisdiction.
- 10. The social security number for each owner, officer, or director.
- 11. A government issued photo identification confirming U.S. citizenship or legal presence in the United States for each owner, officer or director, or if those individuals reside outside of the United States, confirmation of legal authority to operate a business in the United States.
- 12. A copy of the written protocol required by A.R.S. § 32-934(G).
- 13. The name, phone number and address for a contact person.
- 14. A notarized signature for each owner, officer or director attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided by the applicants. A stamped signature will not be accepted for the purposes of completing the application.
- <u>D.</u> Within 25 business days of receiving a business entity registration application package, the Board shall notify the applicant in writing that the package is either complete or incomplete. If the package is incomplete, the notice shall specify the information that is missing.
- E. An applicant with an incomplete business entity registration application package shall supply the missing information within 30 calendar days from the date of the notice. An applicant who is unable to supply the missing information within 30 calendar days may submit a written request to the Board for an extension of time in which to provide a complete application package. The request for an extension of time shall be submitted to the Board office before the 30-day deadline for submission of a complete application package, and shall state the reason that the applicant is unable to comply with the 30-day requirement and the amount of additional time requested. The Board shall grant a request for an extension of time if the Board finds that the reason the applicant was unable to comply with the 30-day requirement was due to circumstances beyond the applicant's control and that compliance can reasonably be expected to be remedied during the extension of time.

- F. If an applicant fails to submit a complete business entity registration application package within the time permitted, the Board shall close the applicant's file and send a notice to the applicant by U.S. Mail that the application file has been closed. An applicant whose file has been closed and who later wishes to become registered shall reapply under R4-7-1401 and R4-7-1403.
- G. After timely receipt of all missing information as specified in subsection (E), the Board shall notify the applicant that the application package is complete.
- H. The Board shall render a decision no later than 120 business days after receiving a completed registration application package. The Board shall deem a registration application package to be complete on the postmarked date of the notice advising the applicant that the package is complete.
- <u>I.</u> The Board shall approve the registration for a business entity that meets all of the following requirements:
  - <u>1.</u> <u>Timely submits a complete application.</u>
  - 2. The Board does not find grounds to deny the application under R4-7-1401 (D).
  - The business entity has complied with the requirements of this Chapter and A.R.S. § 32-900 et.
     seq.
  - <u>Pays the original business entity prorated renewal fee of \$17.00 per month from the first day of the month the business entity is registered through May 31 plus \$25.00 for each duplicate license issued by the Board for the purpose of compliance with R4-7-1402.</u>
- J. An applicant shall reapply for registration if the applicant does not pay the prorated registration fee within 3
   months after having been notified by the Board that the applicant is eligible to receive an approved
   registration.
- K. For the purpose of A.R.S. § 41-1073, the Board establishes the following time-frames for initial registration:
  - 1. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 25 business days.
  - <u>2.</u> <u>Substantive review time-frame: 120 business days.</u>
  - 3. Overall time-frame: 145 business days.

### R4-7-1404. Business Entity Registration Renewal: Issuance, Reinstatement

A. A business entity registration expires on May 31 of each year.

- B. At least 30 days before a renewal application and renewal fee are due; the executive director of the Board shall send a business entity a renewal application and notice by first class mail to its address of record for the business entity contact person.
- C. The business entity registration renewal application shall be returned to the Board office on a business day.
  The Board shall deem the business entity registration renewal application package received on the date that
  the Board stamps on the package as the date the package is delivered to the Board office;
- D. To complete a registration renewal application, a business entity shall provide the following information and documentation:
  - <u>1.</u> The name of the business entity.
  - The current addresses, phone numbers, and fax numbers for each facility requiring registration under this Chapter.
  - Notice of any change of owners, officers or directors, to include any additions and/or deletions with the date of the change for each individual, and notice of any change in home address, office address and phone numbers for owners, officers or directors with the date of the change for each individual.
  - 4. The name and license number of each doctor of chiropractic employed with, contracted with, or otherwise affiliated with the business entity according to R4-7-1401(A), to include any affiliation through a franchise.
  - 5. The record of any professional disciplinary investigation or action taken against an owner, officer or director in this or any other jurisdiction within the last 12 months.
  - 6. Any record of an owner, officer or director being convicted of, pleading guilty to, or pleading nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or a felony, even if the record of the conviction or plea was sealed or expunged or the conviction was set aside or forgiven, within the last 12 months and any record of an arrest, investigation, indictment or unconcluded charge within the last 12 months.
  - A statement attesting that the contract or any other form of agreement with the doctors of chiropractic has not changed, or if the contract or agreement has changed, a copy of any new or amended contract or agreement.

- 8. Report any change in the status of the business entity's license or permit to own and operate a business in the State of Arizona.
- 9. The renewal fee of \$200.00 plus a \$25.00 fee for each duplicate Board issued renewal certificate for the purpose of compliance with R4-7-1402. A business entity applying for renewal for the first time shall pay a prorated fee according to A.R.S. § 32-934(C).
- 10. The name, address, phone number, fax number and email for a contact person.
- 11. The original signature of the delegated contact person attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided by the business entity. All owners, officers or directors also remain responsible for the accuracy and truthfulness of the application. A stamped signature will not be accepted for the purpose of a complete application.
- E. A business entity registration shall automatically expire if the business entity does not submit a completed application for renewal, the renewal fee and the fee for duplicate renewal certificates for the purpose of complying with R4-71402 before June 1 of each registration period. The Board shall send written notice to the business entity that its registration has expired on or before June 20. A business entity shall not use the services of a licensed doctor of chiropractic according to R4-7-1401(A) if the business entity's registration has expired.
- F. The Board shall reinstate an expired business entity registration if the business entity pays the annual renewal fee, the additional fee for duplicate certificates for the purpose of compliance with R4-7-1402, pays an additional non-refundable late fee of \$200.00 as required by A.R.S. § 32-934(C), and submits a completed renewal application between June 1, and June 30 of the registration period for which the business entity registration renewal is made.
- G. On or after July 1 of the registration period for which a renewal application was to be made, a business entity that wishes to have an expired registration reinstated shall apply in accordance with subsection (L).
- H. If the business entity fails to timely submit a complete business entity reinstatement application within 6
   months of the date the registration expired, the business entity's registration shall lapse. "Lapse" means that
   the business entity is no longer registered and cannot offer services per this Chapter.
- I. A business entity that has had a registration lapse and that later wishes to become registered must apply as a new candidate pursuant to R4-7-1401 and R4-7-1403.

- J. An application for reinstatement of business entity registration may be obtained from the Board office on business days or by requesting that the Board send one to an address specified by the applicant.
- K. A completed application for reinstatement of a business entity registration shall be submitted to the Board office on a business day. The Board shall deem an application for reinstatement of a business entity registration received on the date that the Board stamps on the application as the date it is delivered to the Board office.
- L. To complete an application for reinstatement of a registration, a business entity shall provide the following information and documentation:
  - 1. The business entity's name and expired registration number.
  - The current addresses, phone numbers, and fax numbers for each facility requiring registration under this Chapter.
  - 3. The names, home addresses, office addresses and phone numbers for each owner, officer or director.
  - 4. The name and license number of each doctor of chiropractic employed with, contracted with or otherwise affiliated with the business entity according to R4-7-1401(A) and this Chapter, to include franchises.
  - 5. The record of any professional disciplinary investigation or action taken against an owner, officer or director in this or any other jurisdiction.
  - 6. Any record of an owner, officer or director being convicted of, pleading guilty to, or pleading nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or a felony, even if the record of the conviction or plea was sealed or expunged or the conviction was set aside or forgiven, within the last 12 months and any record of an arrest, investigation, indictment, or charge within the last 12 months.
  - 7. A statement attesting that the contract or other agreement with the doctors of chiropractic has not changed, or if the contract or agreement has changed, a copy of the new or amended contract or agreement.
  - 8. Report any change in the status of the business entity's license or other permit to own and operate a business in the State of Arizona.
  - 9. The non-refundable renewal fee of \$200.00 and a \$25.00 fee for each Board issued duplicate renewal certificate for the purpose of compliance with R4-7-1402.

- 10. The non-refundable late fee of \$200.00.
- 11. The name, phone number, fax number and email for a contact person.
- 12. The original signature of the delegated contact attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided by the business entity. All owners, officers or directors also remain responsible for the accuracy and truthfulness of on application. A stamped signature will not be accepted for the purpose of completing an application.
- M. The Board shall process a business entity registration reinstatement application in accordance with R4-7 1403(D) through (G).
- N. The Board shall reinstate or renew a business entity registration if:
  - <u>1.</u> The business entity has timely submitted a complete application and paid all fees.
  - 2. The business entity has complied with the requirements of this Chapter and A.R.S. § 32-900 et seq.
  - 3. The Board does not find grounds to deny the application under R4-7-1401 (D).
  - 4. The business holds a current business license or other permit to own and operate the business in the State of Arizona.
- O. If the provisions of subsection (N) are satisfied, the Board shall issue a business registration renewal certificate. The renewal certificate shall serve as notice that the renewal application is complete and approved.
- P. The Board shall make a decision no later than 70 business days after receiving all required documentation as specified in subsection (N). The Board shall deem required documentation received on the date that the Board stamps on the documentation as the date the documentation is delivered to the Board's office.
- Q. For the purpose of A.R.S. § 41-1073, the Board establishes the following time-frames for registration renewal or reinstatement of registration:
  - 1. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 25 business days.
  - 2. Substantive review time-frame: 70 business days.
  - 3. Overall time-frame: 95 business days.

### R4-7-1405. Business Entity Registration: Denial

If the Board denies a business entity registration, the Board shall send the applicant written notice explaining:

- 1. The reason for denial, with citations to supporting statutes or rules;
- 2. The applicant's right to seek a fair hearing to challenge the denial;
- 3. The time periods for appealing the denial; and,
- 4. The right to request a settlement conference with the Board's authorized agent.

### R4-7-1406. Reporting; Civil Penalty

- A. A business entity that reports a change to any owner, officer or director pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-934 (D) (2) shall include the following:
  - 1. Any record of the new owner, officer or director being convicted of, pleading guilty to, or pleading nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or a felony, even if the record of the conviction or plea was sealed or expunged or the conviction was set aside or forgiven, and any record of an arrest, investigation, indictment, or unconcluded charge.
  - 2. Any record of a new owner, officer or director being refused a license to practice chiropractic or any other profession in this or any other jurisdiction, and any record of a disciplinary action taken against the new owner, officer or director's license in this or any other jurisdiction.
  - B. A business entity that fails to comply with A.R.S. § 32-934(D) shall pay to the Board a non-refundable civil penalty of \$100.00 for each violation. If the business entity fails to pay the civil penalty within thirty days, the business entity shall within 15 days pay an increased civil penalty of one \$150.00 for each violation.

### R4-7-1407. Licensed Doctors of Chiropractic and Business Entities, Unprofessional Conduct

- A. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to exempt a licensed doctor of chiropractic from complying with this Chapter.
- B. The following are grounds for disciplinary action under A.R.S. § 32-924(A) and R4-7-902 for a licensed doctor of chiropractic who:

- 1. Performs any service according to R4-7-1401(A) for a business entity in the State of Arizona that is not registered per this Chapter, and/or;
- 2. Enters into an agreement of any nature with a business entity to engage in any activity that violates A.R.S. § 32-924(A), R4-7-901 or R4-7-902 or any provision of this Chapter, and/or;
- 3. Fails to report in writing to the Board any knowledge of a business entity that fails to register with this Board under this Chapter or a business entity that violates any provisions of this Chapter.

### R4-7-1408. Exemptions

A chiropractic assistant does not hold a license and is not exempt from A.R.S. § 32-934 or this Article.